Black Magic Chocolate Cake (with Condensed Tomato Soup!)

I grew up eating desserts that baked by my grandmotherfrom recipes which would definitely be considered “vintage” today! One favourite was tomato soup cake (a spice cake with condensed tomato soup- its all over the internet, try it, you’ll like it!) so I couldn’t resist trying out this cake which I found on a great vintage cooking site, The Mid-Century Menu – Black Magic Chocolate Cake Made With Condensed Tomato Soup – A Retro Recipe Test. I only changed it a bit, as seen below!

Black Magic Chocolate Cake (with Condensed Tomato Soup!)

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
2 cups sugar
3/4 cup cocoa
2 tsp baking soda
2 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt
2 eggs
1 can condensed tomato soup
1 cup buttermilk (I used 3/4 cup vanilla greek yogurt + 1/4 cup water)
1/2 cup oil
1 tsp vanilla

Beat wet ingredients together in large bowl.

How gross does this look?!

How gross does this look?!

Sift in dry ingredients, then beat on medium speed 6 minutes.

cake 003

Doesn’t look so bad mixed together…

Pour into a greased and floured 9×13 pan or 2 round cake pans (I used 2 square pans, who knows if this will throw things off – I’m living dangerously).

Bake at 350 degrees for 35 to 40 mins. (start checking after 30 mins if making rounds).  The two square pans took 35 minutes for me.

And quite nice now I think, we'll see when it is cut!

And quite nice now I think, we’ll see when it is cut!

Result:  The cake turned out moist and delicious, with no hint of tomato soup to be tasted!cake 008

This entry was posted in Baking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

