Tuna and Chickpea Curry Casserole

My mom used to make this crazy dinner sometimes, a curry tuna sauce with vegetables and mushroom soup, that she would serve over pancakes.  I am still suprised I liked it so much, as I was really fussy about fish, and besides, its curried tuna on a pancake… But I did love it and when I remembered it I thought I’d make a casserole based on it.
Tuna Chickpea Curry Casserole
(Makes 2 casseroles with 4 large servings each, or 6 if you serve a salad and bread)

Noodle Mix:
2 cups uncooked macaroni
1 chopped zuchini
1 1/2 cups frozen peas
1 can chickpeas, drained
2 cans tuna, drained

Sauce:
1 chopped onion
3 cloves chopped garlic
2 stalks celery, diced
6 or so mushrooms, chopped
1 tablespoon tumeric
1 tablespoon coriander
1 tablespoon cumin (ground or seeds)
2 tablespoons curry paste (I used 1 hot green Thai paste, and 1 mild red Indian curry)
1 cup water
1 can mushroom soup
1 cup greek yogurt

Saute the vegetables until soft and golden, then sprinkle the dry spices over top, mix, and saute until fragrant.

Dissolve the curry paste in the water, and add to the pan.  Let it bubble a bit and scrape up any brown tasty bits from the pan.

Stir in the soup and yogurt.

Meanwhile, cook the macaroni, then mix it into two greased casserole dishes with the other noodle mix ingredients. (I didn’t plan on it, but made too much so I did one casserole in a tinfoil dish to freeze for later, and one in a ceramic dish to cook tonight).

Noodle mixture, green curry paste, and bowl full of curry sauce.

Pour the sauce over top and mix in, then sprinkle top with breadcrumbs and some cheddar or any cheese you like if you want the crunchiest top.

Noodle and sauce ready to bake.

Freeze or place in fridge.  When ready to cook, take out of fridge or freezer while the oven heats to 350’F.  Bake for 30-49 minutes, or until golden on top and hot in the middle.

This would probably be great with leftover chicken, turkey, pork or whatever beast you have in the fridge.  Would be good without the tuna as well I’m sure!

Result:  The sauce was a bit runny so next time I’d add about 2 tablespoons flour when I was adding the dry spice, to make a thicker sauce – but otherwise, super tasty.

Tuna Curry casserole, fresh from the oven!

I also used Nutrition Data on Self.com to get the rough nutritional data on this recipe – I think my recipe is much more nutritious than is shown here!  It is a very tedious process of searching and adding each ingredient – still looking for a quick way to get nutritional info on recipes I make up, but I kind of doubt there is one – if anyone knows of one, please share!

Leave a Reply

