Baking with Beans – Gingerbread

This recipe is loosely adapted from a great cookbook (with lots of bean baking), The Daily Bean by Suzanne Caciola White.  I used fresh ginger not powdered and red beans not lentils because I had them on hand.  I also used the food processor for all the mixing, skipping using a stand mixer because I don’t own one, and let’s face it, I’m lazy, especially with baking.

Red Bean Gingerbread:

1 19-oz can Kidney Beans, drained and rinsed
1 inch ginger root
2 teaspoons cinammon
1/2 teaspoon cardamom (remove from pods and grind)(used this to replace cloves)
3/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup brown sugar
3 eggs (I’m trying replacing two of the eggs with a flax egg substitution)
1 cup molasses
1/3 cup greek yogurt
1 1/2 cup flour
1/4 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp baking soda

Preheat oven to 350’F.

Chop ginger and process in food processor until it is a smooth paste.

Add beans and process until smooth.

Beans and ginger going through the processor.

Add oil, brown sugar, eggs, yogurt.

Add dry ingredients and process until combined.

Pour into a greased cake pan and bake for 35 minutes.  Or if you can’t read directions and use an square pan not an 8 x 13 pan, expect to have too much batter and to cook it for 50 minutes.

Always carefully follow directions. Or ignore them and see what happens.
So far so good with the ignoring directions.

I had just bought cardamom in the pod, and it was my first time using it – you toast the pods in a warm pan then crack them open and grind them up in a coffee/spice grinder or mortar and pestle.  They look like the little seeds in currants, but smell quite strongly of chai tea – they are one of the spices used in it.

Cardamom pods, seeds, and ground.

Result:  Tastes great!  Next time I would add more ginger or powdered ginger as well, and I’m sure baking it in the right size pan would help too!

Cake with blueberry yogurt sauce.

Rusty wants to know why he didn’t get a piece!
