Crumpets – Second Attempt

I tried making crumpets last week. Due to my fear of frying (I’m bad at it, and if I mess something up in the kitchen, its usually due to frying) I tried them in the oven, not on a griddle as recommended.  Also my batter was incredibly thick.

Crumpet batter, first rise, on its way to becoming bread-dough thick.

They were very tasty, and very un-crumpetlike as you can see:

Crumpets (?) that don’t look like crumpets.

However, as a bonus one of the mysteriously shaped itself into an elegant swan:

The Crumpeter Swan.

Due to their extreme popularity with my resident taste-tester (they didn’t last the day!) I wanted to try again, hopefully with a thinner batter!  I tried this recipe by Margaret Johnson form the Style at Home website.

Crumpet Batter:
1/2 cup water, heated to 110°F
2 teaspoons sugar
1 envelope active dry yeast
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 cups buttermilk, warmed

In a large bowl, combine the water, sugar, and yeast. Let the mixture sit for about 5 minutes, or until foamy. Stir in the flour, salt, baking soda, and buttermilk. Cover and leave in a warm place (my “warm place” is usually the oven with a large bowl of boiling water to give warmth and moisture – I also leave the light on – dough is scared of the dark) for about 30 minutes, or until the mixture has risen.

“Better Batter” after its rise – much more pourable and liquid.

Grease an electric frying pan and preheat at medium-high. Generouslygrease crumpet rings or 2 1/2 inch biscuit cutters. Or if you are too cheap to buy rings, buy foil “Pot Pie Pans” from the dollar store (8 for $1.50) and try your luck with those.

Pour about 1/4 cup batter into each pie pan and place in skillet(a tip I read said that a drop of water should sizzle in the pan) for 10 minutes (mine took more time, leaving the lid on but askew helped keep it hot), or until small holes appear and the top has started to dry. The dry part is important.

Pry the crumpets out of the pie pans – enough grease and you should be fine, otherwise you will get deformed crumpets as seen below, turn the crumpets over, and cook until lightly browned. Repeat with the remaining batter.

You can see the deformed crumpet – there was another but it mysteriously disappeared – I suspect Taste Tester

Result:
Taste great, good for a treat, and worked pretty well considering my sub-standard equipment – I would emphasise the GREASE the pans part.  Not the kind of thing I would regularly cook due to fussiness and lack of nutritive value, but a great fun food.  Taste-tester agrees.

Leave a Reply

