White Bean and Vegetable Stir-Fry

I saw a recipe for “Oriental Beans” in The Daily Bean and it got me thinking about how I could use up the leftover white beans from last nights dinner in a stir-fry.  I sometimes used canned beans but prefer my own frozen beans, cooked in my slow-cooker.  Stephanie O’Dea, author of the 365 day Crockpot website and several cookbooks, has great instructions for cooking beans this way.

Now that I’m baking with beans I will have to be more careful – I just remember my current batch of white beans in the fridge were cooked with several cloves of garlic – good thing I didn’t attempt a cake with them!  Have to remember to label more carefully for freezing from now on!

White Bean and Vegetable Stir-Fry

Sesame Oil
1 large onion, diced
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 inch ginger root, minced
2 cups cauliflower/broccoli florets or a mix
1 large carrot, thinly sliced
other thawed frozen or fresh vegetables (I added some frozen peas)
2 cups white beans (Great Northern, Canellini, etc)
1/4 cup hoisin sauce
3 tablespoons lime juice (or juice of one fresh lime)
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/8 cup fish sauce
1 1/2 tablespoons sambal oelek (chili garlic paste – could substitute pepper flakes to taste)
1/4 cup tahini (sesame paste)
1/2 cup water or broth

Ginger and fresh garlic from a friend’s garden – beautiful fat cloves with pretty purple skin!

Heat sesame oil in large wok or frying pan (medium high heat, or according to your experience with your stove!).  Process garlic and ginger in a small food processor.  Scrape into wok, along with onions, stir constantly til fragrant and golden.

Add carrots and stir-fry until tender crisp, then add the florets and any other vegetables.

Mix hoisin sauce, lime juice, soy sauce, fish sauce, siracha,broth and cornstarch – I used the processor that had the garlic and ginger in it, to get out any extra bits!  Meanwhile heat the tahini in a sauce pan to loosen it up.  Add the other liquid ingredients and simmer the sauce until thickened.

Ready and waiting for the sauce…

Add the beans to the wok, then add the sauce and heat.

Serve on top of rice.

Our dinner!

I like brown basmati rice.  I used to have a link for the perfect way to cook rice (for me) but can’t find it now!  Basically you roast the required amount of rice in the oven in a baking pan (no oil or grease at all!) at 350’F for about 10 minutes, until it smells nutty and toasty – some grains may even “pop” like popcorn or puffed rice, don’t be freaked out! This step may be done ahead of time.

After roasting – you can see a few “popped” grains that look white and puffy.

Then put the rice and twice the amount of water (or broth) or a bit more in a pot and bring to a boil.  Place a clean dishtowel over the pot then place the lid overtop (make sure your towel is well clear of the burner!) and cook over low heat for 20 minutes for white or 30 or 35 minutes for brown rice.  Turn off burner and let rice stand for 10-20 minutes, then fluff with fork.  I never have rice stuck to the bottom of the pan this way!

Result:  This was a great vegetarian meal (maybe I should say meatless as I’m not a vegetarian and don’t watch every little ingredient) and reminded me of the taste of peanut satay sauce, but more sesame-ish.

Leave a Reply

