Roasted Corn Muffins

I am making these today to serve with tomorrow’s planned Green Chili.  I’ve seen roasted corn mentioned a lot – some people mention buying it frozen from the grocery store, but I thought I’d try making it myself from regular frozen corn – I’m sure it would be much better on the cob, but I’m using what I have.  I roasted extra to use in tomorrow’s Green Chili as well.

To Roasted Corn
– spread thawed kernels on a baking sheet and bake for 15 minutes at 400’F.

Roasted Corn Muffins
1 cup flour
1 cup cornmeal (yellow or white)
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 cup roasted corn
1 teaspoon red pepper flakes (optional)
1/2 cup finely chopped greens (arugula, spinach, parsley, etc.) – optional!
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 cup greek yogurt
1/2 cup water or milk to thin yogurt
2 eggs or 2 flax eggs (1 tablespoon flax meal plus 3 tablespoons water)
1/2 cup cooked beans (I used romano as I was cooking these for the chili anyway)

Combine yogurt, milk/water, egg (or flax egg), beans in a large mixing bowl.  Blend with an immersion blender til smooth (or use food processor).  Add baking soda and mix.  I used the cooking water from the beans – some people say using it gives you gas especially if you don’t eat them often, but we eat them often and I don’t like throwing out the liquid which is full of flavour and probably nutrients!

Whisk or sift together flour, cornmeal, and baking soda.  Mix in roasted corn, red pepper flakes, and greens so they get coated in the flour (this works for anything chunky you put in muffins like berries – it coats them so they are separate and don’t clump together).

Gently fold the wet and dry mix together until just combined.

Bake in greased muffin tins at 450’F for 20 minutes.

Result:  These muffins were nice and chewy and the roasted corn really increased the overall flavour!  Next time I’d fill my pans a bit more or make a double batch as they were a bit small – I got 9 small muffins and 6 large from the mix.

Leave a Reply

