Slow Cooker Mediterranean Beef and Bean Stew

I had capers, olives, and lemons hanging around, which is unusual in my kitchen, and this seemed a good way to put them to use.  I took a bunch of pictures while cooking this, but I accidentally deleted them!

Slow Cooker Mediterranean Beef and Bean Stew

1 pound /0.5kg beef, aprx.(I had some marinating steak, stew beef would be fine too)
1 lemon
1 can or 3 cups beans (I had pre-cooked frozen Romano beans)
1 can sliced olives, drained
1 can tomatoes, drained
2 tablespoons capers
2 large onions, chopped
2 carrots, peeled
10-12 cloves garlic
1 tablespoon cumin
1 tablespoon sage
1 tablespoon oregano (my herbs are fresh herb purees I froze into ice cube trays after harvesting whatever was left from my mom’s garden!)
1 tablespoon thyme

Drain the olives and tomatoes, reserving the liquid for later.

Slice the lemon into thick slices and remove any visible seeds.  Fry the lemons in a dry pan until they are carmelized.  Place lemons in bottom of slow cooker.

Pat dry beef, season with salt and pepper and brown in the same frying pan, place beef in cooker.

Process garlic and carrots in food processor until minced.  Fry chopped onions in the same frying pan until soft and brown, then add garlic and carrot and continue to fry until golden and fragrant. Dump this mixture into slow cooker.

Return pan to heat and add olive and tomato liquid.  Reduce liquid and scrape up any brown flavour from the frying pan.

Add herbs, beans, tomatos, olives, and reduced liquid to slow cooker.  These picturesmake it look gross, but it isn’t – all my pretty pictures of assembled ingredients and browning foods got deleted, sadly!

Ingredients including browned steak and lemons in the cooker ready to go.

Cook on low for 7 hours.

I left these thin steaks whole after browning because I expect the meat to fall apart while cooking.  If it doesn’t I will remove the steaks and chop them up.  My intent was to have small pieces of meat throughout.

It may look like a uniform beigy brown mess, but it tasted great!

Result:  This tasted delicious. served on top of some bulgur. The steak was fall apart tender, but I did chop it up to make sure there were meat bits throughout. Will spiced his up with some hot sauce and enjoyed it.  It would have looked prettier if I’d had some fresh spinach or parsley to garnish it with.

1 thought on “Slow Cooker Mediterranean Beef and Bean Stew”

Leave a Reply

