Dijon Pork Chops with White Beans and Spinach

I came up with this idea to use up the leftover white beans from last night’s stew, along with a few odd things I had in the fridge, like capers and anchovy paste.

Dijon Pork Chops with White Beans and Spinach
2 large pork chops (mine were boneless, and quite large, like 4 normal sized ones)
seasoning salt (I make a mix of salt, onion powder, sage, thyme and oregano, and keep it in a sealed container with a smashed clove of garlic)
2 stalks celery, diced
1 carrot, diced
2 small onions, diced
6 mushrooms, diced (use more!  that’s what I had left)
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon capers (optional, I have them in the fridge so I used them!)
1 tsp. anchovy paste (optional, but I like it)
3 tablespoons dijon mustard
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup apple juice + 2 tablespoons white wine vinegar, or 1 cup white wine
2 1/2 cups or one can white beans drained and rinsed (I had cooked white Great Northern or Navy beans)
baby spinach, chopped – as much as you like (it always amazes me how much it wilts away!)

Everything but the spinach - I always forget the spinach!
Everything but the spinach – I always forget the spinach!

Sprinkle the seasoning salt all over both sides of the pork chops and let them sit in the fridge for a few hours or overnight.

Nicely browned chops.
Nicely browned chops.

Heat some oil in a skillet at medium high heat and brown chops on both sides.  Set aside on a plate.

Vegetables browning in oil and anchovy paste.
Vegetables browning in oil and anchovy paste.

Add more oil if needed, then add anchovy paste to pan if using.  Add onion, celery, carrot, mushrooms, and capers.  Saute until golden brown.  Add beans, then pour liquids over the vegetables.

Vegetables and beans.
Vegetables and beans.

Stir the dijon mustard into the liquid, then pour into pan.  Scrape any browned bits off the bottom of the pan, and simmer to reduce liquid to half.  There should be almost no liquid left

Reducing the liquid
Reducing the liquid

Stir in chopped spinach.  Return chops to pan with any juices from the plate, cover, and let simmer until chops are fully cooked and everything is nicely warmed and happy, depending on how thick your chops were, it could just be a few minutes or more if the meat needs further cooking.

The finished skillet, with spinach!
The finished skillet, with spinach!

Result:  We loved this!  It is incredibly filling with all the beans, and so tasty.  I had to adjust the recipe a bit as I went along, as I’d not made it before.  In particular, I actually used about twice the liquid I’ve written in, but it was way too much and took a really long time to reduce, better the way I re-wrote it I think.  I will definitely be serving beans more often as a combination “potato/rice replacement” and side vegetable.
Picture 008

Leave a Reply

