Slow Cooker Spicy Pork and Bean Stew

I’ve been working my way through our stockpile of dried beans and came up with this idea to go with a small pack of pork stew meat I got on sale.

Slow Cooker Spicy Pork and Bean Stew
1 1/2 cup dried white beans
1 cup dried chick peas
6 cups low-sodium broth (I had homemade) or water
aprx. 0.5 kg or 1 pound stew pork (or other cubed pork meat)
2 tsp. creole spice (Emeril’s or mine – bottom of the post)
1 tablespoon fresh frozen herbs (sage and thyme) or dried
2 cups froze corn, thawed
1 can yellow beans drained (or equivalent fresh/frozen)
2 carrots, peeled and diced
2 large onions, diced
6 cloves of garlic, minced
splash of wine or wine vinegar (optional)
1 cup frozen peas, thawed
chopped baby spinach

Soak beans and chick peas in broth/water in the fridge over night.  In the morning, dump beans and liquid into pot (I don’t rinse away the water, I’d rather have whatever nutrients leach out go into my stomach!  I know people say that discarding the liquid eliminates gas, and if that is your concern go ahead!).  Reserve about a cup of the liquid to use in the skillet.

Season the meat with creole spice and corriander – I usually chop my meat up even smaller than the butcher does for stew meat as well, I perfer to spread it out throughout the stew.

Brown all the other ingredients – I did it in this order, adding each batch to the cooker as I went, and using more oil in the skillet if needed, but leave the browned stuff in the pan, it has great flavour:
-corn, beans, carrotsstew 001
-pork meat

I forgot to take a picture of the browning onions and garlic, use your imagination!
I forgot to take a picture of the browning onions and garlic, use your imagination!

-onions and garlic

When you have browned everything and the skillet is empty, pour in about a cup of liquid and simmer while scraping the brown bits off the bottom.  Add a splash of wine or wine vinegar if you like.  Pour this liquid in the pot.stew 003

Cook for 7-10 hours on low.  Add the spinach and peas in the last 1/2 hour before serving, just before the dumplings if you are adding them.  I did cornmeal dumplings.stew 005Result:  I did add quite a bit more seasoning to this, you have to adjust to your taste – but I was very happy with it, and it is super filling!stew 006

Leave a Reply

