Fried Grits with Spinach

I thought I’d try these out to go with our leftover red beans.  My mom brought me back some “Quick Grits” (not the same as instant apparently – better – everyone I’ve read seems horrified by instant grits) from her trip to the States.  I’m sure you can get them somewhere even in Halifax, Nova Scotia, but I’ve not seen them yet.  I am a bit sketchy on this but I believe they are the same thing as polenta, it is all boiled cornmeal I believe.

For this you just make grits, put them in a mold, then slice and pan fry. If you had grits for supper, you can do this with the leftovers.

Fried Grits with Spinach
5 1/3 cups water
1 1/3 cups quick grits
1/2 tsp salt
Optional – I added:
1 tsp margarine
3 cloves roasted garlic
1 very small onion, finely diced
a few handfuls of baby spinach, chopped

Melt margarine and mashed up garlic in a large saucepan, add onion and saute til translucent.  Add water and salt, bring to a boil.

grits 001Slowly add grits while stirring, bring mixture back to the boil then turn to low.  Cover and cook for 5 minutes stirring occasionally.

grits 002Meanwhile, grease a loaf pan and throw in the spinach.  Once the grits are cooked, add them to the loaf pan, mixing up the grits to spread the spinach throughout.grits 003

Chill in the fridge, about two hours should do it but you can leave it there til needed.  Further research revealed that it might improve results if you put a weigh on top of the grits to press them more firmly into the mold.

grits 004When you are ready, slice the grits into about 1/2″slices.  This was learning through experience, but I would recommend you then press the slices into a plate of seasoned flour, then shake the excess off before frying – they seem to stick and not brown well otherwise!grits 005

Fry at medium heat until well browned on both sides, and serve as a side dish, or however you like. They are also served as you would a pancake, for breakfast.grits 006Apologies to anyone from the South who finds this post offensive – I’ve never been there, eaten there, or otherwise experienced the cooking except through books, so I’m doing what I can!

Leave a Reply

