Quick Kimchi

I’ve tried fermenting cabbage several times, but it always went horribly wrong.  This time I’m trying something super-simple, from the Stone Soup Blog.  My attempt is based on their Quick Kimchi recipe:

  • 1/2 large white, savoy or napa cabbage (regular white cabbage)
  • 1 bunch bok choy (optional) omitted
  • 2-3 teaspoons chilli flakes
  • 5cm (2in) piece turmeric, grated (they carry this at my Superstore and I plan to try it asap)
  • 5cm (2in) piece ginger, grated
  • 2 tablespoons fish sauce
  • 1.5 – 2tablespoons fine salt

I added a clove of garlic and a small jalapeno, grated.  I realize this is far from authentic kimchi, I just want to manage to succesfully ferment cabbage into something edible for now.

    I guesstimated how much cabbage would fit in my jar.


    After assembling the other ingredients (powdered tumeric subbed for fresh),


    Everything gets mixed togetherlong with some additional pink Himalayan salt.

     

    Now we wait for a few hours or overnight, covering the kimchi with a tea towel.  I also pounded the cabbage with a weird stirring tool we have.

    The cabbage didn’t release much liquid at all, but it did decrease in volume by about half.  Not sure how that happened, but here it is:


    Next I packed down the cabbage as much as possible, and topped it with several pieces of outer cabbage leaves to keep everything submerged.


    Finally I topped it off with filtered water.


    Then, seal up the top with a masom jar lid, and let sit out on the counter.  It should start to ferment, and needs to be opened once a day to release the built up gas.  We’ll see what happens!

    Day 2:

    The cabbage seemed to have a re-absorbed some of the liquid, but seemed to return to its original state and liquid level once I packed it back down. No smells or signs of frementation yet.

    Leave a Reply

    