Not Corned Beef, Corned Pork

This is an experiment, and with the price of beef there is no way I am doing an experiment on a beef roast!  So I’m testing it on this boneless pork rib roast:


I’ve halved the amounts of normal brine recipes I found, and added the seasonings I wanted.

Brine

  • 5 cups water
  • 3/4 cups kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1 onion roughly chopped
  • 3 cloves smashed garlic
  • 1 tsp dehydrated ginger 

Palmfuls, or whatever amount you fancy of:

  • Peppercorns
  • Brown and yellow mustard seed
  • Corriander seed
  • Celery ceed
  • 4 all spice berries
  • 8 or so cloves

Add water, bring to a boil, remove from heat, dump in about 6 ice cubes from freezer, then cool.


After the brine was cooked it definitely smelled like pastrami in the kitchen.

Pour the brine over the meat in a ziploc bag, seal, place in container to avoid leaks, and leave in the fridge for 5 to 7 days.  I read somewhere that rather than using the chemical additive that gives the bright pink colour on corned beef (sodium nitrite I think) you can use beet juice.

I don’t terribly care if the meat is pink or grey if it tastes good, but I just made cranberry concentrate from a bunch of frozen cranberries, so I threw 1/4 cup or so in with the brine.


My brine was already a golden colour from the onion skins, so this is the colour I ended up with.  I threw out about 1 1/2 or so cups of the brine that I didn’t need to cover the roast.

Updates to follow…..

Leave a comment